Texas’ new abortion law


Aileen Peres, Senior

Texas is now the only state that has passed through legislation that places restrictions on abortion, starting September 1, 2021. 

Texas Governor Greg Abbott signed a law stating that women are not be allowed to have abortions after 6 weeks of a pregnancy. There are those who believe that 6 weeks is too early to even know if a woman is pregnant. 

Government teacher at Nogales High School, Miss Nelson believes this to be a biased law: “ As a woman of age and a woman of color I’m very disappointed that our country is moving backwards at a time when we should be focusing on moving forward.” 

Nogales’ Vice Principal Mr. Marquez says that, “At the end of the day, it is a woman’s choice what she can do with her body.” 

This state law has made its way to the White House,  where President Biden‘s plan is to push back the law. Biden has made this one of his priorities, but his opportunity to succeed might be a closing window.